top of page
Search
  • alison269

2018: Stone, Paper, Scissors


1 Rocking over to Lyme Regis

We took our geology themed group show ‘Marking Time’ to Town Mill Arts in Lyme Regis in April. Supported by Contains Art, The Golsoncott Foundation and the National Lottery we developed work about Geology on the West Somerset coast and exhibited it at Contains Art. Such was the enthusiasm from the Artists that more work continued so we jumped at the chance to show it in Lyme Regis (our Limestone geology neighbour!). I exhibited with Andy and Leo Davey, Susan Lowe, Lucy Lean and Melanie Deegan.

2. Papering the Walls at Bridgwater Arts Centre

I was very pleased to have 3 of my pieces included at the ‘Paper’ exhibition in March at the Bridgwater Arts Centre.Pieces included my Torus Ring (shown here) made with unique samples from the no longer Wansbrough paper Mill, Watchet and my ammonites made of folded recycled Geology notes from my Geography degree.

3. iPad Art exhibition

My first solo show of iPad painting was shown at Bridgwater Arts Centre in July. Over fifty pieces were displayed including hand painted acrylics on canvas derived from the digital pieces. I projected animations of some of the drawings at the Private View which looked great working their way up the stairwell in this Grade 1 listed building. Thanks for the support of the Arts Centre staff and volunteers who helped make this show a success and for my wonderful friends and family for coming out to the wilds of Bridgwater for a brilliant Private View evening.

4. The Old Brick Workshop, Wellington.

Thanks to Alison Cosserat for inviting me to take part at their annual Christmas show. I displayed paper work and animal paintings.

5. RWA Autumn Open

The high point of my year must be the RWA open. I entered two pieces and my piece ‘Quality Control’ a yellow square abstract painting in acrylic against some very prestigious competition got through and it was a great thrill to see it hung on such hallowed walls in Bristol.

6. Cutting the Cord - Going Solo

So this year going into 2019 you will find me working at the Mayfly Studio on my own. Marilyn Ewens is now to be found painting furiously at her studio in Bicknoller. It was great sharing with her for a year, she is a wonderful painter and I learnt a lot from her. Now I must press on and make the most of this lovely space in wonderful Watchet. There is certainly lots of inspiration here.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page